What's new
What's new

Contouring a rifle barrel

jetpilot67

Plastic
When contouring a rifle barrel...

1) Should I use a water based cooling system, cutting oil or nothing?
(I don't like the water based cooling system because I don't want exposed ways to rust)

2) Is barrel heat an issue? When the barrel heats up under machining, does it not expand and lengthen? so, will this cause issues when turning between centers or even when mounted in the chuck and a live center at the tailstock? I was wondering about barrel bowing when turning my first barrel as it heated up.

3) Why do some barrel makers take so much time and effort to center the bore in the chuck as opposed to turning between centers using a lathe dog? It seems like turning between centers would be easier, faster and just as accurate...but hey, I'm a noob, otherwise I wouldn't be asking ;)

4) Is there a good place or book to read on precision barrel making? I've seen some basic videos and piecemealed them with readings , but no one stop shop on how to do it.

I have no experience making barrels, but do keep in mind that most (all?)coolants contain rust inhibitors. Mixed properly, rust will not be your problem, on the part or machine.

Do you have a steady and follow rest?

Marc

Hi Jetpilot. I'm new at this too, but have been doing some work on barrels and may have answers to some of your questions.

1. I don't know what is "proper", but have been using cutting oil and taking smaller cuts on the barrels I have been working on. The barrel definitely sees more heat this way than if you were using a coolant for the cut, but like you I would rather go slow and not deal with the water-based coolant.

2. Let me answer #3 first...