What's new
What's new

cutting oil

curious george

Plastic
Finally decided to hook up my 9" by 48" south bend lathe. ( family heirloom) Trying to find a good grade cutting oil and something to pump it. Several posts suggest mobilmet 404, but it seems that it has been replaced by mobilmet 766. This seems to be a thicker cutting oil. Since lathe usage will be intermittent, i think oil will be best (rather than water soulable_) Really need a light grade cutting oil and someway to pump it. Need to be able to restrict flow (valve) so maybe sometimes a lot, maybe sometimes a little. Most pumps I see don't like heavy fluids and don't like restrictions. Mobilmet 766 $69.00 at enco with free shipping.

Anbody got any clues.

Believe it or not I even got an original South Bend Drill Press. I know a thing or two as I was a machinist for several years. Problem was, electricity paid more so I changed occupations.

any suggestions would be welcome

Finally decided to hook up my 9" by 48" south bend lathe. ( family heirloom) Trying to find a good grade cutting oil and something to pump it. Several posts suggest mobilmet 404, but it seems that it has been replaced by mobilmet 766. This seems to be a thicker cutting oil. Since lathe usage will be intermittent, i think oil will be best (rather than water soulable_) Really need a light grade cutting oil and someway to pump it. Need to be able to restrict flow (valve) so maybe sometimes a lot, maybe sometimes a little. Most pumps I see don't like heavy fluids and don't like restrictions. Mobilmet 766 $69.00 at enco with free shipping.

Anbody got any clues.

Believe it or not I even got an original South Bend Drill Press. I know a thing or two as I was a machinist for several years. Problem was, electricity paid more so I changed occupations.

any suggestions would be welcome