What's new
What's new

Defining what people call junk

m-lud

Stainless
image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg I tried to delete the second picture.
This air motor and the sleeve aluminum was in some boxes of items a shop owner friend offered before he threw it in the dumpster.
I am intending to make a sleeve with a bracket to mount it on my 16" SB for grinding. I have found this air motor made by Sioux tools in a air router. $965.00 on ebay. I have a feeling this was some sort of router. It has a kenmetal 3/8 collet. 1/2and 1/4" are available.
I have some lathe experience but am not an expert. Are air tool grinders good on a lathe or is there too much movement within the thrust tolerances in the air motor.
The air motor is tight and humms like new but these tools build heat therefore have some built in clearance that could causes movement.
Is this a bad Idea?
If so it would make a hefty hand held. They sell a side handle for it.
The angle plate was also in the JUNK.
About 40 lbs if high speed end mills drills and taps. This junk wasn't the shop toss offs. Some still in the tube. Lots of cap screws. I have a unipunch grinder that is great for sharpening the end,end mill cutting edges.
Tom went to an auction and had to take all these boxes of junk with a purchase and didn't want to mess with the sorting. He referred to it as junk.
Being a friend I showed him what some of it was worth on ebay and offered to return it. He said no it's yours

Angle plates - good, bad, or indifferent - can always find SOME use.

Endmills in tubes can be put-backs for handy storage, may easily be as trashed as loose ones. Or not.

Any air grinder that works at all can remove metal. That doesn't make it a suitable candidate for a TP grinder. Few are. Most are decidedly NOT. Cleaning up after stick-weld, rather. IF you even have air enough. Some - the most effective ones - are right greedy.