What's new
What's new

the end of one journey and a new start

robert102653

Aluminum
Ok so here itis the end of the restoration journey in that today i made chips with the lathe i have been restoring for the last four months. With two full time jobs it has not been easy to find time to play but hell if i wasn't determined to get to this point. My son says that cold coffee is a sure sign of "shit getting done" Well i have left a lot of half full cups of coffee laying about the house. I told all of you that the next pics i posted would be of the south bend model 9a lathe covered in chips so here you go.

The before photo P1030555.JPG:angry::crazy:

The after photos :D P1030755.jpgP1030754.jpg

Now I just need to learn how to use it to the fullest. Wish me luck LOL.

I'll be back and looking to pick brains.

Rob

Attachments

• P1030751.jpg
    P1030751.jpg
    46.5 KB · Views: 562
You may discover your drum switch is in a precarious spot. Get some big ol' stringers caught up in the chuck whizzing around. You won't want to grab that switch.

I am admiring you for going through a very labor intensive project. I ended up cleaning my lathe, replacing lead screws on crosslide and compound, felts, etc.
I even painted some of the parts but i did not have time to complete it. That lathe was a very precise machine especially after setting it up and adjusting everything. It cut within .0005" TIR 4" from the chuck, despite the fact that the bed had reasonable signs of wear. I think, given the lathe was not abused you can get it to run and cut beautifully if you fiddle with it long enough.
All the best.
letlevski

perhaps, but it is in a spot that south bend used on many of their setups for far bigger machines like the 13 and 16 inch lathes. i don't think i would ever let a stringer get that big. lol