What's new
What's new

Got a lathe and no idea how to use it

jtyson

Plastic
Yep. I'm one of those guys. I have zero experience machining. Beyond youtube of course. I've got a wood lathe, and a couple years ago, got it in my head that I wanted to make a couple specific items out of metal, so naturally, went to Craigslist, found an estate sale with a Southbend lathe and bought the entire estate. Yeah...I've got a problem. They sold the mill before I got there unfortunately. I was really hoping for one of those. Anyway. After the profit from the sales of all the other estate gear, I'm into this lathe less than nothing, so that is a bonus.

So yeah...two years and I finally decided that I either need to do something with this to make what I had wanted to, or I need to sell it and get the hundreds of pounds of gear out of my way.

My problem? I don't know what any of this stuff is beyond the basics. I understand the chucks, the tool holders, and the collets and such. But I don't really know how to use any of it all together. Turning on a wood lathe is crude and simple. So I don't want to apply the same principles to spinning metal.

Probably asking too much, but has anyone laid anything out for the aspiring self taught machinist? (Trust me I know I don't deserve the title) Like a guide or a picture book? Or maybe a metal lathes for dummies youtube video? Something like a micro crash course. I don't expect to become an expert, but I'd like to figure out how to set this thing up and make it spin metal without taking any of my fingers.

I'd be glad to take and post pictures if anyone cares to see them.

First the term “spinning metal” is a type of metal forming you want to learn to “turn metal” with your lathe.
Just start by clamping a piece of round bar in the chuck a tool bit in the holder and turn the bar to a smaller diameter, watch a few YouTube videos will help.

Yes post pictures, we all like to see pictures of your machine.