What's new
What's new

Help with South Bend Lathe

mandmj

Plastic
Hello, I am considering purchase of a South Bend lathe but would like some advice/help from the experts. I am relatively new to the world of machining, but have been doing research for a while now. I have come across what I believe to be a 10K but wanted to be certain of its type/origin (USA/Korean/etc) and some idea of its value before I spend hard earned cash. I live in the central southern US (Oklahoma) and lathes don't grow on trees down here, so I figure prices are a bit higher here. The lathe pictured is listed for $1500 but includes minimal tooling (what is shown is it). Is this worth pursuing, or should I bide my time? Heavy 10s in my area are listed at $2-3000 typically but may not be single phase machines. Use of the machine would be for hobby work, repair of workshop/household items, and general fun. Thank you for any assistance the group can provide.

Attachments

• IMG_1237.jpg
    IMG_1237.jpg
    88.2 KB · Views: 415
  • 00f0f_lpu8vaZuEP5_1200x900.jpg
    00f0f_lpu8vaZuEP5_1200x900.jpg
    91.3 KB · Views: 369
  • 00v0v_jsGo9gETOqd_1200x900.jpg
    00v0v_jsGo9gETOqd_1200x900.jpg
    91.2 KB · Views: 332
  • IMG_9084.jpg
    IMG_9084.jpg
    92.5 KB · Views: 302
  • IMG_1240.jpg
    IMG_1240.jpg
    81.9 KB · Views: 291
More pictures

Attachments

• IMG_1241.jpg
    IMG_1241.jpg
    84.6 KB · Views: 210
  • IMG_1243.jpg
    IMG_1243.jpg
    88 KB · Views: 205
  • IMG_1242.jpg
    IMG_1242.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 197
  • IMG_1244.jpg
    IMG_1244.jpg
    84.6 KB · Views: 212