What's new
What's new

High bidder on my first lathe ever... Need some input

antalog

Plastic
Well, Im just getting into machining and have never actually owned a lathe. I've actually only used one once, so I have zero experience with them. Ive been hunting for a south bend lathe for a while now, studying up where I can. Almost pulled the trigger on two others but never actually went for it.

I came across this one through a school auction. I saw the ad a few weeks ago with photos and bid sight unseen. Im not sure what I was thinking, it was kind of just a stab in the dark. I put a bid of $600 in and early today I got an email saying I was the high bidder.

Here's the lathe

Under normal circumstances I would just follow through, put my money up and bring it home. But in the interim of bidding and winning we booked a family vacation out of state starting next week. So now both time and money are a factor. I have 3 days to pay and then 3 days after that to pick up.

I messaged asking for the serial, bed length and what (if any) tooling comes with it.

Its right in the price range of tricky for me at this moment, plus given I have no lathe experience I was hoping to go with a heavy 10 to start learning on, (but not sure if that really matters.)

The details of the auction said, if I pass on the auction it will go to the next high bidder. What kind of input from more experienced owners would say about this lathe at that price point? And any major details I should consider for this machine. I hate being in the position of not know what Ive just agreed to buy but.... here I am.

Thanks in advance.

WTF is that spider web for????

Catching flies, OR, unsuspecting first time lathe buyers, of course.

I'm not sure of prices in your area, around here, for $600, it depends. Condition mostly, then what is included. Hard to tell condition from the pics, tons of threads here about how to asses a lathe's condition, do some research.