What's new
What's new

How to drill square holes??

Josh Bowman

Aluminum
I'm new at this machining, so please be gentle.
Tonight, I wanted to make an adapter to fit some of my wood coring blades. They have a tang that's a little over a 1/4" and 5/8" wide and 2" long. My first thought was to use my chinese mini mill, but found the bits to be too short as well as the head above the vise. So I turned to the SB 9A and its mill attachment. I tried to drill a hole 2" deep, no problem but which way to go after the first hole? The bit won't drill another close hole without bending and besides I'll have waste left in the hole. Any suggestions? I'm thinking of just boring a 5/8" hole and allowing the blade to lean in the hole, but was hoping for a more eloquent solution. Sorry for the bad cell phone pictures, but they'll give an idea of what I'm doing. These are the tang on the bowl coring blade:end view.jpgside view.jpg
Here's the lathe setup I have to work with: lathe end.jpglathe side.jpg
And here's the best I have in mill bit length:mill bit.jpg
Any ideas or help would be appreciated.

Find the longest dimension of the tang, the hypotenuse of the right triangle scribed across it, and make a hole that size. After that add 2 set-screws to engage the tang's flats.

Upon edit, why are you drilling this as such? Hold the material in the headstock and the drill in the tailstock.

If you do this carefully I think you won't even need the milling attachment.

If you are hoping that someone will offer to do it for you, I guess that's a possibility.

There are plenty of time-intensive techniques, but tooling is still required.

If you can drill a series of holes to remove most of the intended hole, there are a few options:

Chisel out what you can, then clean up the hole with a selection of files. You will most likely destroy a file or two.

This is work that is classically done with a coping saw, perhaps not in metal.