What's new
What's new

How would you turn this part on your South Bend Lathe?

Max Weber

Aluminum
Material Options:
A513DOM Tube, 6061 Tube, 4130 Tube

Machine: 14 1/2" SBL w/live center & 3 jaw chuck

Total View.jpg
Inner Dimensions.jpg
Exterior.jpg

I currently have a set of indexable carbide cutters (my first set of tools for this new-to-me machine)
https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/41S9+eEPiYL.jpg

Any help would be appreciated. I'm a novice. Should I even consider doing this project?

Thanks,
Max

Edit: I noticed a couple of the images were resized and made the measurements un-readable...
9 inch overall length
thickness of tube will be roughly .065 (too thin to turn cleanly?)

The counter bore and the turning down of the OD you can do in the lathe, but if that's the only machine you have, short answer no. You might be able to drill the radial detail at the end (slot thing), bit you will need a drill press and I am not sure a drill will fit your part, didn't look real close.

Good grief...toss that horrible tool set!!! Seriously!

tell me what type and size tool post you have and I'll link some good cutting tools.

What diameter and bore is your tubing before machining?

Sharp HSS tools would be fine. As Iwana+ said, cheap carbide tools aren't going to do you any favors in aluminum; where you want truly sharp tools.

As for your part, I'd be inclined to make it in two pieces.

The detailed bit would hold nicely in a collet -- you'll just need a decent small boring bar. It could also be done in your 3jaw - best if it had machinable jaws. If you take my suggestion (below) about two pieces, you'll have to flip the end part to machine a recess and will want to maintain jaw grip location for concentricity. Depending on your chuck and tolerances, that could work.