What's new
What's new

I'm confused about 20t Stud gear on reversing assembly.

Tojan19

Plastic
I'm a complete newbie to this. So please pardon my ignorance.

My SB9 started out as a model B. 1960's era. I converted it to a gear box (Model A). I know I need a 20T stud gear, and from what I understand the stud gear is the lower small one on the reversing assembly. A 16t is currently on there. So I ordered a 20t stud gear off ebay, and now I'm rather confused. I removed the 16t and the shaft is 0.562 and the 20t gear I ordered has a 5/8" bore. The 20t also has a extension that would leave me almost no threads for the nut if I stacked it on the inner gear.

Where do I go from here? What parts should I be looking for?

20t I bought on ebay.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/371246836390?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2648&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

well, its a 16 dp ,14 1/2 degree pressure angle spur gear!
whats the width of that gear?
do you have a lathe?
do you how to cut thread??
whats the thread(pitch)on that shaft??

I have made a quick drawing for you, you might use that gear. you will have to bore that gear a little more.IMG_20150211_231331.jpg

If theres any mistake, please let me know.

Attachments

• IMG_20150211_231113.jpg
    IMG_20150211_231113.jpg
    99 KB · Views: 188
I have one, PM me your address and I'll send it and a few other misc. parts I found.
Thrust bearing,take up nut, and the inner reverser spindle gear. All dirty and used but serviceable.

FYI- it's a 14.5 degree, 18DP gear about .380 ish wide x 1.22" diameter

when you get it just stick 6 bucks in an envelope and mail it to me. I think that's still about the cost for small flat rate.

I have one, PM me your address and I'll send it and a few other misc. parts I found.
Thrust bearing,take up nut, and the inner reverser spindle gear. All dirty and used but serviceable.

when you get it just stick 6 bucks in an envelope and mail it to me. I think that's still about the cost for small flat rate.