What's new
What's new

I'm probably jumping the gun here, but it looks like I'll be getting a 10-K soon

Mr. Asa

Plastic
A former coworker is having to move soon and won't be able to take their lathe with them, basically abandoning the house. Unfortunately for them I'll be buying it from them for what I can afford, not for what its worth. Even more unfortunately for him I'm a college student working on my Mechanical Engineering degree, so again, not much.

He hasn't had it for long, and was in the middle of functional restoration (although the cosmetics are pretty good already.) It's coming with a lot of accessories and I don't have a comprehensive list yet.

Just sort of wondering what I should prepare for, what sort of stuff I'll need to get, and how I should prep this. Not even sure what questions I should ask right now.

The immediate concern is the weight of this thing and power. How much of pain is it going to be to move this thing to my place? Does it run off 110?

Thanks

Bench Style is the one with the motor behind the spindle? It is one of those. Custom made wooden cabinet with controls built in above the lathe, I'm going to bet that with the wooden cabinet its split between those weights.

" Not even sure what questions I should ask right now."

Questions? No questions.

Just go over there and pick it up. Apart it will fit in a small car. You can sort out the
other details later. Bring rags, milk crates, boxes, and strong friends. Oh, and cash.

" Not even sure what questions I should ask right now."

Questions? No questions.

Just go over there and pick it up. Apart it will fit in a small car. You can sort out the
other details later. Bring rags, milk crates, boxes, and strong friends. Oh, and cash.

Still a couple hoops to jump through with my friend. Should be able to get it soonish, but I have to be somewhat patient right now.

In the meantime I'm spending time over there helping him pack up parts, tools, etc etc.