What's new
What's new

Inaugural Post - New Heavy 10 owner with some unanswered questions

MikeRoach

Plastic
Hello all! Long time lurker, first time poster and new South Bend owner. Thought it was time I introduce myself, show off my new lathe, and finally seek some opinions on a few questions I haven't yet been able to answer myself.

I'm a total beginner, but I'm no stranger to highly specific hobby forums, so I'll try not to commit too many noob faux pas as I leverage the seemingly limitless machining knowledge and expertise on this site but please do let me know if/when I'm being a bad forum member in any way.

Anyway, on to the tool in question: A while back I decided to pull the trigger (far too soon, and nowhere near adequately prepared) and bought a cabinet mounted '45 Heavy 10/4 from a very nice gentleman near Worcester, MA who had one of the most spectacular home machine shops I've ever seen. Apparently he hunts down South Bends (at auctions, on CL, etc.), "fixes" them, has his son slap some paint on them and resells them. I took the 3 hour drive with nothing but a u-haul trailer, a pocket full of cash, and a picture of some ways that looked to be in very good shape. Impulse buying is a problem I have...

I bought the lathe having only seen that the ways were indeed in good shape, and that it ran and did all the things it was supposed to. No, I didn't bring an indicator or a test bar. Still, even after ramping up my South Bend research in the intervening months and learning all the things I did wrong during the buying process I don't think I got TOO badly taken advantage of, though until I get an indicator on her I won't know for sure.