What's new
What's new

Intro and Weight of 13" SBL Question

ChipBed

Aluminum
My name is Bob, married with kids & grandkids and I live in Rochester, NY. I retired a couple of years ago from a gear machine tool manufacturer, where I worked as a machinist for a while and then as a service rep.
I have a small machine shop at my house, which is lately getting a good work-out, as I'm currently restoring a 1946 Chevy pick-up and a lathe is invaluable.

For years, I've had a 1942-vintage 10" Atlas which has done a lot of work for me, but a couple of weeks ago a friend of mine offered me his 13" SBL, complete with all his tooling and of course I thought about it for maybe 1/2 second and yelled, "HELL, YES !!"

My questions is, does anyone have a ball-park figure as to what a 13" SBL weighs? It'll come to my shop on a trailer and I'd like to lift it off with my "cherry picker" hoist. The hoist is rated for 2-ton (1-ton extended boom). Is this hoist big enough to lift the lathe?

Also, what's the best way to rig the nylon lifting straps on the lathe? Any portion of the lathe to avoid lifting from?

Thanks in advance for your help and I hope to be able to be a productive member of this forum.
-Bob

I will try to remember to look up the weight later but in case I forget re lifting lathes with straps. Riggers use a set up that passes the strap around the bed and then up thru the center of the web so that it will not roll. Lots of lathes have a center of gravity just above the bed so if you sling it with a simple basket sling, the entire machine flips over!

I will try to remember to look up the weight later but in case I forget re lifting lathes with straps. Riggers use a set up that passes the strap around the bed and then up thru the center of the web so that it will not roll. Lots of lathes have a center of gravity just above the bed so if you sling it with a simple basket sling, the entire machine flips over!

A small crane like that will have some trouble