What's new
What's new

Motor Pulley size if using a VFD on a South Bend 10K?

Cheesebeast

Plastic
Hello All,

I am a newbie who could use an experienced eye to look over my evil plan to get a South Bend 10K up and running.

It is a South Bend 10K, Catalog# CL 670 Z, Serial number 35702K. I think that means it was made about 1978/79. The lathe is missing the motor, motor pulley, belts, and various mounting bolts.

My plan is to source a new motor- 3/4 HP, TEFC, 1800 RPM.
A VFD- Teco Westinghouse (AC Drive, 1hp, 115V, Single Phase, Medium Duty)
A serpentine belt from an automobile (6 rib, 27/32" wide, 47.5") that will be glued (or sewn together with fishing line)
A V belt, not sure what type or size.
And a replacement motor pulley.

If I am using a VFD do I have to source an original motor pulley (5/8", P/N PT2131K1, 3.956" and 2.237")? Can I just go with a single pulley size (guessing- 2.5")?

The machine is loaded with a thick layer of machine shop grime, but it appears to my untrained and ignorant eye to be in good shape. It isn't rusty, just grimy.

I guess a full felt replacement is in order once I get through the grime layer.

Thanks for any and all advice you can give to help me execute my evil plan!

with you citing a 47.5" belt I have to assume it is a horizontal drive because the UMD uses a ~61" long belt....if that is the case why splice it?

You can use a single pulley, but you'll obviously lose some of the speeds possible. I'd probably grab a single pulley close to the original large size, and find a belt to mate that up to the smaller step on the countershaft. That will give you a range of speeds roughly in the middle of the original speed range. If you need more or less speed than that will give, the VFD should cover the rest.