What's new
What's new

My first post

Paula

Titanium
Hi!

This is my first time posting on this forum. I've been a big South Bend fan since the early eighties when I purchased a new 10k for my home workshop. Unfortunately, I sold it when I had to move cross country in 2001, and I've been regretting it ever since. But I was going to be living in an apartment, so I didn't have much choice.

The good news: I've recently purchased a house, and am slowly getting back into the metalworking hobby. In fact, I just bought a 9" Model A from a nice man who also happens to be a member of this forum. It's a pretty old machine, but in very nice condition. I'm picking it up this weekend! In case anyone is curious, here a link to the auction:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v470/haplesspeanut/EBAYAD.jpg

What I like about this machine is that it has a 4' bed, and it shows almost no wear. Any opinions?

I'm looking forward to participating here on this forum in the near future. I'm sure I will have questions in getting this vintage machine set up, and maybe at some point I could even offer advice to others.

Paula

[ 05-19-2007, 09:03 AM: Message edited by: Paula ]

I saw that machine while the auction was running.
The bed does seem to be in remarkable condition.

It's clearly been loved by the former owner,
small things like the clamp bolt for the gear
banjo for example - which was replaced with
a much easier to use allen head screw.

The two things that strike me about the machine
that might bear some attention are 1) the
wiring to the motor, and 2) the crossfeed screw.

You might want to take a good hard look at the
wiring when it arrives and be sure that the
rubber covered S cord is in decent shape. I've
found that machine owners tend to make poor
electricians as a rule so consider replacing
the old wiring with liquid-tite conduit between
the drum switch and the motor, with individual
THHN conductors inside the conduit.

The crossfeed dial is the small diameter,