What's new
What's new

Need help identifying my new Heavy 10

terrafirma

Plastic
Hi Forum, thanks for your help.

I just took delivery of my new South Bend Heavy 10, Model No. CL8187ZB. (First pic below) I bought it from a outfit in Pennsylvania, and had it shipped to my modest shop in San Rafael, CA.. I'm a general contractor using the SB lathe to mill up bronze fittings for a sailboat restoration. I'm not a machinist, by any means - but I build a mean house! It has the serial number on the end of the ways, No. 15821rkx16. (Second pic, below) It has a number punched on the bottom of the QC gearbox, no. DIG107 R. (Third pic, below).

I'm trying to get the year of mfg., and all identifying info so I can figure out how to accessorize. I have a box of old tooling that came with it, but it's all in pieces, and separated. The one great thing is that I have two full sets of 5c collets, so I can sell one to someone that needs a set.

The engine plate (1 h.p., 3 phase, 220) is the shown below, as well as a shot of the carriage and Alonis tool post. There is a taper attachment on the back, that you can't see.

I ordered the Fuji Frenic VFD, so I can run it off my single phase, 120 line current. I take deliver of that in 1 to 4 weeks, so I can't run the dang thing yet.

I used the algorithm on the http://www.lathes.co.uk/southbend/page4.html try to find the date of mfg, but kept getting 1905. But I did find another 8187 model number for sale that had a close serial number, and I estimate that the year of mfg. was around 1965. But I'm not sure. I'd also like to know what the "X" special designation in the serial no. means. It has a large threaded spindle, too.

Any help is appreciated. If I can send additional pics, or other info, please let me know.

Thanks!

IMG_0819.jpgIMG_0821.jpgIMG_0817.jpgIMG_0820.jpgIMG_0824.jpg