What's new
What's new

New Guy with a SB 13 and a few Questions

1952B3b23

Plastic
Hey Guys,

My name is Chris and i recently bought this 13" South Bend off of Craigslist. I'm new to machining and i'm looking forward to learning a lot here. The lathe will help me with my hot rod and antique car projects. As well as different pieces of tooling for metal shaping.

A friend of mine came over and showed me how to run it a little bit. It seems to work pretty well but i do have some questions.

1. Can someone decode the serial number, 10152TKX14? The catalog number isn't stamped into the gear box tag which i find kind of strange.

2. I've looked at a bunch of pictures of other 13" SB's and they all seem to have a 4 step cone pulley. Mine is only 3. I'm wondering if someone swapped parts on it at some point?

3. For tooling, should i stick to regular HSS or try carbide? I'm tempted to try grinding my own out of HSS.

Here's some stuff that I've done to it since I've had it... I bought a new leather belt from Hudson Belting in Worcester MA. Replaced the two old V-belts that where all stretched and cracked. I got a Phase II quick change tool post (wedge style). I also bought the proper SB lathe oils off eBay and cleaned and re-oiled the lathe. I picked up a trav-a-dial off of eBay to mount to the carriage as well.

Thanks in advance for any info,

-Chris

Attachments

• IMG_2839.JPG
    IMG_2839.JPG
    93.4 KB · Views: 193
  • IMG_2838.JPG
    IMG_2838.JPG
    75.1 KB · Views: 176
  • IMG_2837.JPG
    IMG_2837.JPG
    95.3 KB · Views: 182
  • IMG_2836.JPG
    IMG_2836.JPG
    90.9 KB · Views: 202
  • IMG_2833.jpg
    IMG_2833.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 157
South Bend Lathe Co.

This will help with your serial number.

How's the backlash on the compound and cross slide? New nuts sometimes make a big difference.

I used the following website to get some info on the serial number:

http://www.wswells.com/serial_number.html