What's new
What's new

New to Lathes

nrpolo

Plastic
I'm a teacher by trade and enjoy rebuilding motorcycles and old things. My late father began his career as a machinist at Sandia Labs but regrettably I never took the opportunity to learn the skill from him. Anyway, I traded a bridle for this lathe and am trying to get it going so I can use it to build parts for my projects. I know that it is a South Bend and I believe it is a 9" workshop model c. I can't seem to find pictures of the tailstock on the lathe and the bull gear seems different as it has a screw to engage not the spring loaded pin from the parts diagrams I have found. I am concerned that the bull gear was not a pressed fit and is loose on the spindle. The motor has a homemade mount and a v pulley has been modified for the drive. I disassembled the lathe, cleaned it, replace the felt and the bearing oilers. It now runs but makes a knocking noise that I think is coming from the loose bull gear. I would sure appreciate help with identifying the tailstock and any advice on the bull gear issue. Thanks IMG_0601.jpgIMG_0604.jpg

At least part of that lathe is a late model 9C. But I would call that a Frankenlathe. Bits and pieces have been taken off other pieces of equipment and made to work on that machine. To start with, A V-belt pulley has been attached to the center pulley. It looks like the handle off of Bridgeport milling machine is used In place of the longitudinal crank. The crossfeed dial has been replaced, But I can't tell much about the crossfeed itself. And the half nut handle Is at a weird angle. The Tail stock looks like it might be Off a wood lathe.