What's new
What's new

new toys

perlp

Plastic
This is my first post in this site, I am a hobby machinist, has been slowly building up my home (basement) shop. So when I saw an advertisement for a small milling machine on Craigslist, I could not resist I went to see it right away. Guy also had a South bend 9" lathe with a 48" bed for sale. I had read a lot about SB lathes here, so I bought both of them. I admit it was an impulse buy, I probably paid more than they worth. Now I have them, trying to make best of it. Lathe shows signs of wear and use, but seems to be in decent shape. no broken parts and everything moves smoothly (after adding some lubricating oil.) It was bone dry when I got it, seems like someone cleaned it and done a poor paint job, all over, on dials and handles etc.
I did some measurements (as in Paula's 1947 SB thread
HTML:
(http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/south-bend-lathes/1947-model-9a-128005/)
. Play in the headstock bearing is is about 0.8 mils, seems too good given its age and use, backlash of the lead screw is about 12 mils. Lever in the QC box is tricky to move, have to hold close to the shaft to move it. Is that a sign of wear or usual? It came with 3 jaw, 4 jaw chucks and lantern type tool post and holders. It has a 1/2 hp GE motor probably a later replacement. It is mounted on a somewhat shaky steel table. Like to add quick change AXA tool post, some kind of collect chuck.. etc and of course a better painting job. Your suggestions and recommendations are welcome and appreciated.