What's new
What's new

taildragger

Plastic
I am purchasing a SB 10 Heavy this week after waiting a long time to find the right one. It has a taper attachment and some other tooling. I am going to be transporting the lathe in the back of my truck and will have to cut the leather belt to separate the cabinet from the lathe so that I can fit it in the truck under the camper shell. I have read the threads on serpentine belts and think that is what I will replace the leather belt with. Is that still the best option and what adhesive has worked best long term?

I am a retired aerospace test engineer and could have tested belt samples using an Instron or Tinius Olsen Tensile tester back in the day but I no longer have access to them.

My wife and I built a house on 40 acres outside of Salida, Colorado and I have a 2200 sq. ft. shop that is insulated, heated, and has a bathroom. I am very lucky!

I have a Bridgeport and a large Japanese lathe already but have always wanted a South Bend Lathe. I will post photos when I get the lathe home.

This is a great site that I have been reading for quite some time.

Thank you in advance for any help you are able to offer.

Tom

why not use a trailer?

as for the belt, IMO forget splicing an automotive belt...much better options now.

get a new synthetic with metal clipper lacing from Baltimore Belting or Al Bino.

Oh, almost forgot...welcome to the madhouse! :)

Thanks Diamond for your response. I have two trailers but I have to drive a long ways to get the lathe and am unsure of the weather I might encounter which is why I would load it in the truck instead of a trailer. I will research the belts you suggested.

Thanks again

Tom AKA Taildragger

Diamond -

I looked at the Al Bino website and there are two options. A belt that is metal laced or one that requires glue. Which one is recommended by the South Bend forum members?

Thanks

Tom

I have the one that gets glued on my SB13 ; about 5 years now . No problems . Very smooth .