What's new
What's new

Novice SB 10L power feed question

gadget73

Hot Rolled
First, let me say I've got no real experience running a lathe, so I apologize if this is a stupid question.

I've been getting acquainted with my 1957 10L, and I noticed that the power feed and the power cross-feed run in seemingly opposite directions. In forward, both the half nuts and the power feed run the carriage towards the chuck. The power cross feed backs the cross slide away from the center. Is this for some particular reason, or just something that is a happenstance of the design?

Useful in my opinion. Think of turning toward a shoulder that you want to be square. On your finish pass, you feed toward the chuck, flip the feed to the cross slide and face the shoulder.

On many larger and newer lathes, you can reverse the feed at the apron. Since you can't on the heavy 10, the arrangement used makes the most sense to me.

Teryk

IMO its that way just in the interest of simplicity...when you are toward the center of a part that is when your feed should be at the highest and as you get toward the outside feed should slow down to get a really consistent finish...SFM and all that.

the feed rate is much finer on the cross feed than the long feed on most SBs, which is less than ideal, so most guys I think feed by hand when finishing facing work.

one of the things that endeared my Sheldon to me was the fact the cross and long feeds were about equal and the cross fed inward(opposite of SB).
since I parted at turning speed it let me turn and then part off under power without shutting down to change my feed.

Still a bit of the SFM issue but a bit more workable for me.

I will always contend the SB is a feel machine.

Not entirely sure what the fact that the reversing lever has to be changed has to do with SFM rates. I get that the speeds need to change, but I'm not quite understanding what you're saying about that being related to the feeds running in a seemingly opposite direction.