What's new
What's new

Help with a possible Lathe Purchase.

wagostino

Plastic
I am new to machining and have been slowly building up a garage shop. I have resisted purchasing an Asian import in favor of patiently waiting for some older american heavyweight eqipment. There is a lathe advertized on CL nearby. lathe southbend 9x24 mod c

The add describes the Lathe as follows: lathe southbend 9x24 mod c, complete with tooling underdrive stedyrest 4 4jaw 2 jacobs 110v with change gears.

It doesn't look like any other South Bend I have seen. There seems to be a noticable lack of motor above. Is that what an underdrive is?

The asking price for this Lathe is $800. I have requested the serial number from the seller. What should Iwatch for here? Is this lathe worth $800?

The seller could not find the serial number. He states that the factory it was in sent it out to be "cleaned up and gone through". He also mentioned that there were scallop like marks on the ways in someplaces and that was supposed to be a good sign.

It really depends on the condition, and without pictures or a more detailed description that will be very hard to determine.

The serial number can be found on the end of the bed between the saddle and tailstock ways.

A good condition 9" with lots of tooling could be worth upwards of $1800, while a poor condition with little tooling could barely be worth more than scrap metal. Try and go take a look at it, and also use the search function on this site to look up other 9" people have bought to compare with. Hopefully together you will be able to decide if it's worth it to you.

Hope this helps,
-Jon

Exactly. If it does come with all the gears, steady rest, 4 jaw chucks and etc, it seems like a good purchase. I am leary on the "Underdrive" and would like as much information as possible going in.

New pictures

Here are some more pictures. Can you tell anything about the tooling or any other useful information?

Lathe1.jpg

Lathe3.jpg

Lateh2.jpg