What's new
What's new

Picked up a south bend.

MetalMan23

Plastic
Hey all, I own a welding shop, I've always wanted to be able to make my own parts, and now with this recent acquisition, I will be able to start doing just that.

I'm totally new to metal lathes, I have 2 friends who are machinists, I'll definitely be asking then for help and advice, but I figured I'd join this forum to get help with my specific lathe, and general help with the set up and use.

Here's some pics

I'm no machinist but I'd say $250 is a pretty good deal [emoji3]
92d1445da5166fe79c02ce53ead79712.jpg
e7087a6180256176a25442037ecec33c.jpg
7628201cc5b45b93bb33e9dc916437a3.jpg
240611f7cae1994f8851143d4f2fcb75.jpg

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk

If someone can direct me towards any learning material directed towards beginners that'd be great, I don't want to waste everyone time with questions they've answered a million times already

You come to the right place, There is a lot of people that have experience with that machine. And fortunately for you they are willing to help. It looks like you have a good project their. One bit of advice, Don't lay tools on your Lathe bed. A small dent can mess up the accuracy of your machine. And be aware, that machine is top-heavy. Bolt it to the floor if you can. That is once it is leveled.

Stay safe and have fun.

Joe.

Looks like a 11" Series O from teens / twenties / early thirties

Here is the somewhat later How To Run A Lathe

http://campkahler.com/files/How_to_Run_a_Lathe_SB_1of2.pdf

http://campkahler.com/files/How_to_Run_a_Lathe_SB_2of2.pdf

Thanks, [emoji106][emoji106]I'll give those a read