What's new
What's new

r 8 tailstock

hardtail69

Plastic
does anyone make an r8 based tail stock that will fit a model 9a south bend lathe? thinking oF getting another tail stock and making one my self.Is it feasible? yes i am a newbie with a lot of questions lol. the reason i am asking is slippage i get it whenever i try using a tap even just a 3/8-16. either the mt2 slips or the Jacobs chuck slips but it is always one or the other i can never seem to get them tight enough. i will get them started straight then they slip and I end up taking it off the machine to finish it in a vice. Is there any help for this problem?
I thought maybe an R8 version of the tail stock might be feasible. i already have r8 collets for my small mill. and they never ever slip on me

the reason i am asking is slippage i get it whenever i try using a tap even just a 3/8-16. either the mt2 slips or the Jacobs chuck slips but it is always one or the other i can never seem to get them tight enough.

What's the condition of the taper in the tailstock quill? If it's been damaged by too many "spin outs", might be time for a new (to you) quill. The taper should hold under normal use. You'll probably need to buy a whole tailstock to get the quill- but I don't see a cheaper alternative.

Another option, although it might seem strange, would be to use Lisle tap sockets with a modified square drive extension. If you mill or grind three flats on the extension (after cutting off the female socket) it won't slip in the chuck. I would use a 3/8" square drive with a 3/8" to 1/4" adapter for the smaller tap sockets.

The taper spinning in the tailstock is another matter and one that has been recently addressed in another thread whose title I forgot.

Another option, although it might seem strange, would be to use Lisle tap sockets with a modified square drive extension.