What's new
What's new

Regrinding Ways/Saddle Repair

jonesturf

Cast Iron
I'm currently rebuilding a '49 Heavy 10. The ways have about .004" of wear but have many dents in them. You can see them in my rebuild thread. Yesterday I called around within my area and found a company out of NJ that would regrind my ways for $650. Also, they said they would rebuild and scrape my saddle, with Turcite I believe, for another $300.

I have been looking around and found a lot of threads in the Monarch forum on the use of Moglice. I am new to all of this but Moglice seems like it would be the easiest for me to use since I have used epoxies in similar application before.

I'm wondering if anyone else has gone through this process with good success or has used Moglice on a South Bend and what the cost would be as compared to the quote I was given.

I had my 1941 11" Southbend bed reground (actually milled by a custom arrangement of two Bridgeport heads above a planer) because it was extremely swaybacked (1/16" or more) from prior abuse. The local experienced machine restorer built up the saddle with plastic (I don't know which one), reground the cross-slide, reground the compound, raised the tailstock slightly, all for $1200. Included also was minor scraping to fit the cross-slide and compound plus some decorative scraping on the ways to hold oil. He was slightly irked by more wear than he had anticipated. I thought he did a good job, and the lathe has been much improved. I had to do a little work to align the headstock axis and tailstock axis concentric with each other and the ways. It is a treat to drill holes true for once.

Best wishes --- Allen