What's new
What's new

Rotors only on a brake lathe?

Relz77

Plastic
Not knowing much about lathes, I asked the lathe operator at my previous place of employment about turning rotors on an engine lathe (not that I wanted him to do mine, just curious). He said that the old timer, who taught him, said not to turn rotors on anything but a brake lathe. What's the difference? I worked in a garage when I was a teen, and I saw how rotors were turned. The only real difference I saw was that they put a rubber strap around the outside to keep the squealing down, and that they had mounting cones for automatic centering. Other than the swing being an issue, why couldn't a rotor be turned on an engine lathe?

rotors on engine lathe

I feel the issue is it is hard to cut both sides of the rotor in same set up on most lathes . distortion from chuck is an issue. and getting them to end up true to there axis . Auto mfgs spend an awful lot attention to this stuff . any error ends up being felt in the pedal. as far as i am concerned most auto rotors are available pretty cheap often not much over turning charge . The brake lathe i have seen have not done justice to the job. I have run a number of them in my younger years. Take rotor lathe turn a disc the carefully turn it on the tooling 180 degrees re clamp it and measure run out . Try this at the tire shop with there balancer watch the numbers . many new cars do not have very much material to remove before below fed spec . truck rotors often times get pricey and make sense to turn .

yes you can trun them on a lathe. if you take the time to make a spud to bolt them to. it is all in the setup. a brake lathe is just a lathe it just has the setup parts to do brakes.

I did it on my F150 rotors last fall. It is very hard to get both sides but it can be done with a LOT of effort. I probably wouldn't do it again. -Mike