What's new
What's new

Taper Turning Question

gotchips

Aluminum
I have been using a lathe on and off for over 35 years and anytime I needed to cut a taper which was usually less than 2 inches in length and not really critacle I would just use the compound set at the angle I needed and that was that.Well I have a job that requires a 1/4 degree taper for a 6 inch length. Large dia. is 1.533,small dia.1.481.So far I have tried 8 different times to get the taper attachment set just right but am always about 1/4 degree off.Is there an easy way to get the dimensions as stated or is this to close tolerance to perform without grinding?
Thanks for any suggestions.
Dale

i have only done this once, i was turning in inches per foot. i measured out three inches on the tapper attatchment, then set a dial indicator on the cross slide to measure amount of travel of the cross slide while running the three inch section i marked on the tapper attatchment. in this way i could devide the inches per foot ( say .6023 ) by 4 ( .6023 divided by 4 equills .150575 ). i would addjust the tapper attatchment till the cross slide moved .1501".
Note: CRS.. may have to devide the .1501 by 2 since you are cutting on one side of material.
sorry if this is confusing but this was the only way i could figure it out by myself, but the dead center i cut for my spindle on my SB9 came out alright.
some one can correct me if i'm wrong and pint out a simpler way.

The purchase of a Mini-Sine Bar will allow you to mount the 2" sine bar the the material being machined and set the taper attachment to the correct angle.

I've worked with the taper attachment of my 10L a handful of times and at risk of blasphemy, I've never found the graduations on the TA to be dead accurate. I've only needed a specific angle a couple times and I've always spent way too long making cuts, adjusting the TA, repeat. Creep up on it in other words.