What's new
What's new

SB 9a restoration question

NathanH

Plastic
Hello all, Newbie here.

I am beginning to take apart my 1947(?) SB to degrease, clean, lubricate and repaint. Got a small pin giving me trouble.

Does the tailstock handle usually have a taper pin in it? Or, is the pin press fit?

I think the handle is held onto the screw going into the quill by just one pin. As far as I can tell the pin is in a thru hole. However, for all my pounding on the bottom of the pin, I haven't seen the head move out at all. Am I wrong in how this is assembled?

Thanks in advance for any help!

It's gonna be a tapered pin. The taper is relatively slight so you need to be sure which end is the small end and which end is the big end. You must drive it out from the small end. You also need to be very careful about the pin punch you select. Any punch that will tend to expand the pin as you hit it (as for example a center punch would) will make it very difficult to get the pin out. Be patient and you can get it apart.

Welcome to taper pin hell lol, all that was said in the previous post was on point, I'd like to add that if you cannot get it out then you may need to drill, I had a couple I needed to drill when I did my 9a, if you end up having to go that rout then simply replace with a roll pin or set screw to make future disassembly easier, and future owners happier.

I had good luck with a 3/8 brass and a 3/8 alum rod . taper one end down to size of small end of of pin, brace well, then a good wallop with a 24 oz ballpeen. The softer metal won't damage the hand wheel. Got all mine to move, then moved to the proper size rollpin driver. Oh yeah, mine was a 1945.

Good idea (kudos, rusty): "future owners happier." I like it a lot!

And, Isneon, I hadn't thought of finding some softer metal rod. Also a helpful idea.