What's new
What's new

SB dc motor pulley or no pulley

osassa

Plastic
Hello everyone.
I'm trying to set up a dc variable speed motor on my model 9c SB. Here is the dilemma I have, can I just set up a motor without using existing pulley system? What I mean is can I just use one belt from motor to the chuck shaft or using pulley (2 belts) is a must?
My current motor is 1/4 hp and new DC motor is 1.5HP, so I think I will have enough torque, maybe?

Monarchist, thank you for reply, but I'm new to lathes and I have no idea what you just explained.

Here is the reasons I want to convert. 1/4 is ac NOT variable speed, new dc motor is higher hp and variable speed(it is a treadmill motor, baldor and it works).

I would like to eliminate pulley system to save space, but I don't know if eliminating that big pulley wheel and one belt would bring up issues. To me it seems that getting rid of pulleys would not make much difference especially since I'm adding a stronger motor.

Hello everyone.
I'm trying to set up a dc variable speed motor on my model 9c SB. Here is the dilemma I have, can I just set up a motor without using existing pulley system? What I mean is can I just use one belt from motor to the chuck shaft or using pulley (2 belts) is a must?
My current motor is 1/4 hp and new DC motor is 1.5HP, so I think I will have enough torque, maybe?

You can try it, as it won't cost you more than a small flat belt pulley to put on the dc motor, so you can run the flat belt
right to the motor. Oh, and a means to tension the belt of course.

You'll probably find it does not work well, predicted by looking at the relative sizes of the motor pulley you are using
right now, vs the size of the large diameter pulley on your countershaft assembly. Figure out the speed reduction from
that setup, and then figure out how fast the spindle wants to be going, based on the motor speed and that reduction,