What's new
What's new

self ejecting tailstock

RANZS

Plastic
Hi all I have purchased a 13 inch the x 5 foot south bend lathe the serial # 1029TKR-8 catalogue #8113-B its in fair condition I am currently awaiting the arrival of the felt kit that I ordered from Mr.Wells on E-bay so my question:is there some modification I can make to the spindle for the tail stock to make it self eject the centre or drill bit, the former owner seems to have beat the day lights out of the measured scale on the side of the tool holding section (not sure of the proper name).I am a Retired heavy equipment mechanic,the last place I worked I had the opportunity to run a 19inch x 56inch American pacemaker (not sure if it was piecemaker)but what a beast any way I remember it would self eject,is it worn to the point that it no longer ejects? I remember reading in this form
something about it but I cant find it again Thank you for your consideration.

Welcome to the forum Ranz. If the quill is beat up and doesn't retract all the way into the tailstock housing that may be the reason it doesn't eject. Jim

Retracting the quill all the way should eject the center or whatever. If it does not, the tailstock screw is probably too short for some reason. Making the quill longer is only going to make sure you cannot eject things because its not going to pull back far enough. It should retract flush with the end of the tailstock. If it doesn't, figure out why not.

Most live centers do not have a tang and will not eject in SBs.

A lot of other lathes leave some extra travel and even offset the scale to account for difference in taper length.

My war vintage Heavy 10 has no difficulty ejecting centers with no tang. The lathe came with a Jacobs chuck on a MT2 taper with tang. It would eject with the ram at the 0.5 inch reading on the ram. One day I ground the tang off.