What's new
What's new

South Bend 10L, uneven cut

scooternut

Plastic
New South Bend 10L owner here.

I'm still learning proper setup and this old lathes quirks. I intend to do a 2 collar test later to help with a taper that I'm seeing over a long cut. The ways do have some detectable wear, but not horribly so, and the saddle does have visible wear on the underside. I have leveling feet on the way, I noticed that the rear leg is not in contact with the floor, so perhaps my question is premature.

Problem, see pic attached. The tool dug in to create that "thread" while returning with the carriage hand wheel. As if using the hand wheel moved the tool closer to the part. High speed steel from overseas, 10L14 1/2 round, 5c collet set up in the spindle, slowest speed and slowest auto feed, .003 depth of cut, cross slide zeroed and backlash removed.

What could be the cause of this spiral? Shouldn't the carriage return without backing off the cross slide? Sorry, I'm very new and learning all that I can.

IMG_3233.jpgIMG_3182.jpg

" Shouldn't the carriage return without backing off the cross slide?"

Basically, no. For a variety of reasons, lathes are not infinitely rigid. So in any practical application
it's standard procedure to not drag the tool across a cut you just made. The corollary to this is,
if you can do that and not make hardly any impression on the surface you just created, that's a
very good lathe.

Does not take much to move the cutter a few thou. Before you level up your lathe, do this:
Put a piece of stock in the collet (or chuck) extending out a couple of inches. Touch off on the
stock with a good dial indicator.

Then just *lean* on the headstock of the machine with your hand. See what the dial gage does.

This is one reason that old timers holler at novice operators who hang out this way while a cut is in progress.

Be sure both legs are load-bearing before you start the two collar test. The machine won't be nearly as
fussy after you do this.