What's new
What's new

South Bend 16 Tool Post Holder?

Darrin64

Plastic
Looking to update my SB 16 Tool Post Holder to a quick change, Just wondering what kind and size you guys would recommend.. Kinda liking the multifix style, (larger ones that look like what Abom79 uses) though I am new to this and really don't know much about tool post except a few are way out of my budget.

I use an Aloris CXA on my 16 and am very happy. I can find the tool post and holders used, and new on sale, pretty easily. I have seen a few of the multifix style over the years, but just a few. I think those may be European made, or designed. I had a Phase II some years ago on another machine. While it worked well enough, the quality of the Aloris and Dorian is much better. Just my opinion..

Marc

I believe the Multifix is a Swiss-made post.

If they're harder to get holders for, that would be a big negative for me at least. I like things that are well supported, and Aloris type stuff certainly is.

The budget thing is why I'm still running the old lantern post. I'm using it without the rocker shoe though. The washer is upside-down and I have shims as needed to set tool height. Its a hell of a lot less frustrating than fiddle-farting around with it every time I need to adjust the angle or height.

I believe the Multifix is a Swiss-made post.

If they're harder to get holders for, that would be a big negative for me at least. I like things that are well supported, and Aloris type stuff certainly is.

The budget thing is why I'm still running the old lantern post. I'm using it without the rocker shoe though. The washer is upside-down and I have shims as needed to set tool height. Its a hell of a lot less frustrating than fiddle-farting around with it every time I need to adjust the angle or height.

There are Chinese clones for the multiplex toolholders, reports they are good.