What's new
What's new

South Bend 9/10 Feeding with Thread Handle

Dan1900

Aluminum
Hello,

I moved from a 9c to a 10k recently. I really liked on the 9c that when power feeding longitudinally, I could disengage the half nuts instantly to stop the carriage from feeding. Now that I have the 10k with power long/cross feeds, I need to screw/unscrew the small knob to disengage the power feed and it's a lot slower than just disengaging the half nuts. How many of you just end up just using the handle linked to the half nuts when power feeding?

Apologize if this is an obvious question but I am far from an expert. Thanks

The south bend lathes I have operated use a knob to control the clutch.... and a 3 position lever to switch between longitude and cross feed.

Im sure an expert will speak up...

DSCN4210.jpgDSCN4206.jpg
both examples are in neutral

Thanks, I am not sure I am wording the question right. So on my carriage, I have the clutch which engages the power feeds (long/cross depending on which position the lever is in), but then you also have the handle on the right hand side used for threading, which is tied to your half nuts. I find that disengaging the clutch takes a few seconds whereas disengaging the half nuts is almost instant. So for power long. feed, I am wondering how many people use the clutch vs. using the half nuts?

Yes it is quicker to disengage the half nuts, instead of using the clutch. but the problem with using them for everything, is it will eventually wear out. Making them useless for threading. This is the biggest problem with the model C, lathe. Using the clutch will help prolong the threading accuracy of your machine. the Clutch does not have to be extremely tight. Just tight enough to move properly. It should only take about 1/4 to 1/2 of a turn to stop the feed.

Stay safe and have fun.

Joe.