What's new
What's new

16" South bend, losing speed/power

Liv

Plastic
I’ve been digging for information on our lathe in order to repair it. I am not an expert in lathe repair, but do need to get this one running.

The issue started when we were doing a run of drilling and tapping for some leg slugs to accept leveling feet. At the end of the run, the lathe started to loose power, even when just centering. So, I stopped the production of the slug. Upon closer look/feel, when I tried turning the chuck manually it felt like it was sticking. I flushed the spindle bearings with kerosene, and filled back up with spindle oil. Initially it sounded as those it was running better than ever. Really humming. Then, the next morning I came in to get it running before my guys arrived, and again, it was the same issue. I’m using a very light spindle oil as recommended in the literature from south bend that I have found online. I did note when draining and flushing the bearings that there seems to be no wicks where I was expecting them.

What else might you recommend for getting it running again. It soon will become a problem if I can’t find a solution.

Thank you so much for any assistance you can offer.

When you observed the slowing-down, were the spindle bearings warm or hot to the touch?

Might help if you specified what age or model SB, or posted a picture of it.

Sounds like you have plain bearings. Have you checked clearance? Is there any possibility that cap screws have been tightened, or a shim has been lost or shifted? How about the axial play adjustment (nut at end of spindle opposite chuck)?

There is a South Bend specific forum in here. It may help to post there to get some more eyeballs on your issue. Pictures are useful too so that things like which era your machine was made can be useful.