What's new
What's new

South Bend 9 - A Rich Inheritance

pre64win

Plastic
Hello fellow SB enthusiasts.

All through my youth, my father owned a construction company and always seemed to need some piece of equipment fixed. His machinist of choice was a retired firefighter and self-taught machinist name John. Although John was 50 years my senior, I loved to hang out in his shop when I was young. My curiosity about metalworking always had me wanting to try my hand at everything, with John invariably scolding me for wanting to touch his many machine-shop treasures. Among John's many pieces of equipment was a 1953 SB 9" lathe. John had owned it since 1957 and although it was not his only lathe, it was his favorite and the prize of his shop.

yakfll3d

Last year John moved into a retirement home and informed me he was having an auctioneer come in to sell off his entire shop. He gave me the opportunity to come in and purchase anything I wanted ahead of the auction. Among other things, I purchased the SB 9" lathe.

I am a novice machinist at best, and am only now getting proficient at basic lathe operation. I did manage to get John out to my shop one day for some pointers, but I really am looking for guidance on the many features and attachments which have come with this lathe.

Here's a photo of John and I going over basic lathe functions.

y9h8xfxm

The lathe came with endless accessories and attachments. Things such as a taper attachment, some steady rests, extra chucks, drive plates, dogs, collets, etc.

y6wlq4pl

Where I am struggling is learning how to perform threading, and more specifically, changing out the gears to cut coarser thread pitches. If any of you experts can help pr point me to a tutorial, I would really appreciate it. I do have all the gears I need, I believe.

ycf3q4jo

ybw4qv9m

Thanks in advance, and for those who are interested, here are some images of the rest of the lathe and accessories.

-Justin

y9mvvfcf

y98c2buv

ybdlx9vz

yaxctpj8