What's new
What's new

South Bend Lathe 39344 Help

hollthedoll

Plastic
Hello! My husband and I are looking for some guidance on a South Bend Lathe we have sitting in his dads shop. They would like to sell it but we have no idea what to ask for it. Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to using a forum so please bear with me! Thanks in advance.

Here is what we know: South Bend Lathe #39344
50" long rail, 9 foot total in length, 3 phase power
20170830_170626_resized.jpg
20170830_171323.jpg
20170830_172313.jpg

Attachments

• 20170813_095019_resized.jpg
    20170813_095019_resized.jpg
    97.7 KB · Views: 228
  • 20170830_171035_resized.jpg
    20170830_171035_resized.jpg
    97.5 KB · Views: 188
Looks rough from here but could be a cream puff..over head motor machines are harder to sell thinking so 500 to $1000
but you may end up paying some one to haul it away.
..It will look better if you oil rag wipe it down, pick chips out of places and oil both ends of the head stock.Take chuck key out of chuck

Use lub oil in the head stock..3&1 oil is ok if you have none better. Don't use car engine oil.

Buyer should pull motor or likely to dump it

Looks rough from here but could be a cream puff..over head motor machines are harder to sell thinking so 500 to $1000
but you may end up paying some one to haul it away.
..It will look better if you oil rag wipe it down, pick chips out of places and oil both ends of the head stock.Take chuck key out of chuck

Use lub oil in the head stock..3in1 oil is ok if you have none better. Don't use car engine oil.

Buyer should pull motor or likely to dump it

Thanks for the advice!

It is a South Bend Series O 15 inch or 16 inch lathe made in the middle of 1928. Looks reasonably complete, but still old and slow. I'd concur with that $500 to $1000, more if you have some tooling that goes with it.

allan