What's new
What's new

South Bend lathe cracked headstock casting

Jayhawk

Plastic
IMG_1564[1].jpgIMG_1564[1].jpgFirst time posting on PM as I've always been able to search and find the info I need, plus I'm a rookie machinist. I recently acquired a South Bend lathe model CL370ZD made in 1985 thru an online auction with no description of the condition it was in. When I got it home is when I noticed that the headstock casting is cracked across the spindle adjustment screws. Not sure how to remedy this, south bend does not have the part (p/n PT2575K1). There is one on ebay but I'm not ready to spend that much. The lathe came from a high school and the story I got was that it sat in storage for the last 15 yrs. The ways are in great shape as is everything else. I suspect it got tipped over at some. Any suggestions on a fix or parts would be great! Thanks all, I really appreciate being a part of this site!

BTW It's a 10k light

Attachments

• IMG_1574[1].jpg
    IMG_1574[1].jpg
    90.3 KB · Views: 314
Last edited:
The lathe serial is on the ways near the lead-screw attachment at the tail-stock end. CL370ZD is the gearbox model. There is an online method to determine model/age from the serial no.

I would not try to fix that break. Its a weak point and that bore needs to be perfect, maybe caused by someone trying to adjust spindle bearings without the shim pack installed, IDK. A tip-over usually breaks tumblers and feed handles. I would figure out what model and wait on a deal for a good replacement casting to appear online.

It will be nice when its cleaned up.