What's new
What's new

South Bend lathe value

wschock

Plastic
Hey guys, I am new to the site and I am in the market for a lathe. I am also new to machining and have almost no experience, just a strong fascination for turning a hunk of metal into something useful. Anyway, I found whats advertised as a South Bend 12 quick change gear lathe that is going across the auction block this saturday. I am hoping for a little advice on what I should pay for it if i decide to buy it. This lathe is in central indiana. I know without inspecting the ways and being able to turn handles and see how it all feels you guys wont be able to give an exact number, I am just looking for a ballpark figure. The link to the auction is posted below. Take a look and let me know what you guys think. Thanks. http://www.auctionzip.com/cgi-bin/auctionview.cgi?lid=2990616&kwd=&zip=46173&category=0

I looked at the photos of the auction, {not much information on the lathe} lathe looks like a 13 inch to me. Can you look it over first before the auction.?

I'd be pretty comfortable bidding up to $750 on that. It looks pretty rough, it's a single tumbler model and it's a short bed.

Hey guys, I am new to the site and I am in the market for a lathe. I am also new to machining and have almost no experience, just a strong fascination for turning a hunk of metal into something useful. Anyway, I found whats advertised as a South Bend 12 quick change gear lathe that is going across the auction block this saturday. I am hoping for a little advice on what I should pay for it if i decide to buy it. This lathe is in central indiana. I know without inspecting the ways and being able to turn handles and see how it all feels you guys wont be able to give an exact number, I am just looking for a ballpark figure. The link to the auction is posted below. Take a look and let me know what you guys think. Thanks. http://www.auctionzip.com/cgi-bin/auctionview.cgi?lid=2990616&kwd=&zip=46173&category=0