Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Indiana
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default South Bend lathe value

Hey guys, I am new to the site and I am in the market for a lathe. I am also new to machining and have almost no experience, just a strong fascination for turning a hunk of metal into something useful. Anyway, I found whats advertised as a South Bend 12 quick change gear lathe that is going across the auction block this saturday. I am hoping for a little advice on what I should pay for it if i decide to buy it. This lathe is in central indiana. I know without inspecting the ways and being able to turn handles and see how it all feels you guys wont be able to give an exact number, I am just looking for a ballpark figure. The link to the auction is posted below. Take a look and let me know what you guys think. Thanks. http://www.auctionzip.com/cgi-bin/au...173&category=0

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I looked at the photos of the auction, {not much information on the lathe} lathe looks like a 13 inch to me. Can you look it over first before the auction.?

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Virginia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I'd be pretty comfortable bidding up to $750 on that. It looks pretty rough, it's a single tumbler model and it's a short bed.

Post Thanks / Like

Could be 80 years old like here

http://www.wswells.com/data/catalog/...etin_No13C.pdf

Thanks to Mr. Wells for scan

A dead give away on these really old ones is the QC box will say 2 TPI - even as late as this '37

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Michigan
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Running for test, steady, taper attachment, tail turret ... looks like $1200 asking..
    pig in a polk perhaps $750 like hsrace said.

But any thing wrong with auction lathe and the drive to Detroit would be worth a day.