Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Massachusetts
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default South Bend Wiring Issue

Hi guys. I'm new to the forum and working on setting up some stuff for my new found hobby of manual machining.

I recently picked up a C model 9" south bend lathe. No matter how I connect the wires, the dang thing will only turn in reverse, with either switch position.

It has a Walker Turner KAB-5e motor. Throughout all of my searching and troubleshooting I have found that typically the wires coming out of the motor are colored, however mine are not.

There are 4 black wires labled 1-2-3-4, and two red wires with no labels. When I brought it home, one red wire plus wires 1+2 were wire nutted together. The other red plus wires 3-4 were nutted together.

Some background on myself, I'm an aircraft mechanic and build small airplanes in my spare time. I have a good solid understanding of DC 12/24v electrical system. 120/240v AC........not so much.

I will attach a couple of photos. Any advice?
    img_7057.jpgimg_7056.jpgimg_7058.jpg

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Photo of motor nameplate helps.

Google motor model and you may find a diagram.

May be dual voltage and reversable as option

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337Z using Tapatalk

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Michigan
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Does the motor have a capacitor?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Massachusetts
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by USNmechanic View Post
    Does the motor have a capacitor?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yes it does.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)