What's new
What's new

Spindle Siezed

jwearing

Hot Rolled
The other day I ran my 10L on the highest speed for the first time and after about 30 seconds the spindle siezed up, suddenly enough to spin off the chuck. It was surprising because I have been using the lathe for a few months without any problems, but on lower speeds. I thought that it would free up after cooling off but it did not, the only thing I can do to free it is to loosen the front bearing cap.

It is a 40's model with segmented iron bearings, and I'm using Mobil velocite #10 in the spindle. When I set it up a few months ago, the front bearing clearance was at 0.0012". I can still read the same clearance now even though it is siezed. I tried adding a shim, and I was able to get it turning, but the clearance is up to about 0.0030.

Any suggestions?

Just out of curiosity, how do you "measure" the bearing clearance in a seized bearing?

But, back to the issue: If you determine, as suggested above, that the rest of the gear train is not jammed up I think you're going to have to pull the bearing caps and see what's going on. Most likely the "front" bearing is galled from meta-to-metal contact. If you're lucky, you may be able to clean that up with an India stone (very fine and hard) or fine diamond file. Lift the spindle out out and check the bearing bores. Try to clean up any displaced iron. Probably the spindle journal is messed up as well but you can stone that smooth enough to use by putting the spindle back in place and turning it at its slowest speed while lightly applying the stone or diamond to the spindle and flushing it liberally with oil to carry away particles. (The spindle can be rotated under power even without the bearing caps in place.)

Be sure you mark the caps for proper orientation so you can get them back in their original positions.

Recovering from your adventure will take some time but it can be done with some patience.