What's new
What's new

value of taper attachment for SB9?

maddis

Plastic
My SB9A came with an original taper attachment that I've thought about selling. I spent five minutes on Google and I can't find any guidance on what it might be worth. Any ideas?

And, doing my due diligence, I've now spent another 20 minutes on google, and read through several old threads on this forum.

I found one reference to "complete sets tend to be around $400."

Kind of a snotty response, don't you think? I do research for a living, and turn away people regularly who haven't done their homework. I've also been on numerous interest forums over the years and I've never gotten such a lukewarm reaction over an initial post. Hope all machine people aren't like this. Jeez.

Don't have a number for you , and am unsure about a SB9 , but on a 10 the lathe with a taper attachment uses a different cross-feed screw than the one without taper . So , different screw and different nut . Chip guard too .
May not be much advantage to selling the taper attachment , and then buying the parts to make your lathe whole again .
A taper attachment without the nut , screw , chip guard , and all other associated items is incomplete .
Consider keeping your lathe original ; it may reveal its usefulness to you in the future .

the crossfeed is different from the non-taper 9.
would need to replace it with the non-taper type.
as far as a value,take it off,save it and when you choose to sell,its a feature some look for in a lathe.

i have used my taper attatchment a few times,for making morse tapers is one i can think of off the top.

They seem to sell complete and in good shape (i.e. with cross slide and all other parts) on ebay in the $400-600 range.
The ebay completed listings don't go back that far.
Be patient and watch a few come and go.
Or just start a no reserve auction at .99 ending on a Saturday at 7:00PM and watch it hit its real value pretty fast.