What's new
What's new

What size Collets and ive Center for a 10R

FlyinChip

Aluminum
hi all, my "new" 1947 SB Heavy 10R (smaller spindle) lacks a collet set up or a live center, I'm new at this so what sizes of those should I be
looking for?

I did do a search but couldnt find this out. maybe my searching is not good, I used "collet size 10r" in this forum.

thanks

It is likely Morse taper 3.

You use an adapter to go from MT3 to 3C to use collets.

You can use MT3 collets, but they are not self-releasing so can be a pain to use, although they do allow you to go up to 3/4".

The "official" dimensions for the big end of MT3 is 0.9380", so if that's close to the opening in your spindle, it's pretty likely MT3.

Steve

Thanks

I just popped the dead center from the TS and it says #2 M.T. so I guess that means Morse #2. The spindle ID at the back is just over 1"

IMG_20171226_182601 - Copy.jpg

IMG_20171226_182755 - Copy.jpg

not sure you realize it but that has a 1 7/8"x8tpi spindle and you will not find backplates for it.
Yes,The *correct* collets are 2A, and those are hard to find also as is the adapter for them.

If you keep the original spindle learn to thread before you do anything, you may then buy inexpensive 1 1/2"x8 back plates and bore and rethread them.
then if you want collets buy an inexpensive 5C chuck with the 1 1/2"x8 backplate and rethread the plate.

OR swap the spindle for the large bore one.

thanks that helps.

I am new to this so just what exactly is involved in using a collet on this SB? I take off the chuck (gotta figure out how) and then I have a threaded spindle sticking out. what goes on next, an adapter? use a drawbar that threads into that? what pulls on the collet?

sorry, I'm new. I know what collets are for and I know I will want to use them.

just found a youtube video about a "Collet Chuck". is that a better option and would allow using the 5c collets???