What's new
What's new

Wiring drum switch to VFD?

Stronghold

Aluminum
Hello again, gents. Now that I've got my lathe back up and running again it's time to move forward with the "to do" list. I have the original drum switch that is completely stripped of all wires except for the ones soldered to it. I want to use this to run my VFD and have zero clue where to start. I do know that I'm not supposed to put anything between the VFD and motor, and that in order to use the switch it will have to be hooked up to the VFD directly. As stated in another thread, I'm a complete noobie when it comes to electrical work. Does anyone have this same model and could show me their wiring setup when hooked to a VFD?

Thanks.

20150307_144357_zpsmjgsocc1.jpg

20150307_144410_zpsnvzwcmzo.jpg

20150307_144427_zps9rarc62k.jpg

You can wire that switch between the VFD and the motor. I have my mill that way for now. Not sure what it would hurt. You have to wait for the spindle to stop turning before you switch. What brand of VFD?

You can wire that switch between the VFD and the motor.
You can NEVER wire ANYTHING between a vfd and its load (motor).

That's called out in large letters in every vfd manual I've seen (many thereof).

All control switches are to be wired to the control terminal strip in the VFD.
There are usually several different configuration options, enabling you to use existing switches.

More specific advice will depend on the make and model of the vfd, and specifications for the motor being controlled.

- Leigh

VFD = Teco JNEV-101-H1
Motor = Westinghouse Life-Line T, 1hp, 3ph
OK. That's a decent combination.

Do you have the owner's manual for the drive?
If not you can download it here (PDF file): https://www.tecowestinghouse.com/Manuals/ev_operating_manual.pdf

All of your control lines connect to the green terminal block along the bottom front of the unit, shown on page 5.