What's new
What's new

120v VFD for a Belt Grinder

squigly1965

Plastic
Well here's what I'm doing. I'm building a 2x72 Belt grinder. Reason is I'm a beginner knife maker. So building it myself is cheaper.
I'm planning on using a 1.5 hp 3 phase motor and only have 120v available
Well anyway. What i'm wanting to know is this VFD General Purpose Drive, IP20<br>Up to 15hp, Single or 3 Phase<br>AC Tech SCM/SM - wolfautomation.com
a good one. And how much more involve is hooking it up other than power to and from

Thanks for any and all help here. This is my first experience with a VFD

Chris

I have an ACTech SM015S VFD. It is the largest 120v unit they have (of this series) and is rated for a 1.5hp motor….mostly likely the unit you would be looking at.

It came on a 1hp Bridgeport …I have since used it on e a number of other smaller 3 phase motors… bench grinder, fan etc. all less than 1 hp.
It has performed flawlessly for its intended purpose… however; I have never pushed to its max…which is up where you would be using it. It came with the optional remote switch setup that works well. However, I will changing this so that I can use larger buttons including emergency shut off. I just don’t like the small blister type buttons.

As far as wiring it is very straight forward…however the catalog lists it at 24 amps on a 120v circuit …that’s a hefty line…If I had a choice I would have opted for a 220v unit just to keep the wire sizes down…

This was my first VFD after using a RPC for years…I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how well it works…
Joe

atually I'm hoping it will be used to keep the speeds down. The faster it goes the more heat and thats not a good thing to the belt or steel.

thanks for the re assuance on the drive and the info too. I didn't know it pulled 24 amps not sure if I can pull that anywhere. You said you used it on other than the rated hp. Is that a problem. I was under the impression that they had to match. Or will it work up to the rating?