What's new
What's new

200v 3 phase motor with VFD, will this work?

Cue

Plastic
Hi, I am new to VFD's and despite all of my reading before buying items I think I overlooked the voltage on the motor I bought and not sure if it will be OK.

I have 220 single phase in my shop, measured with a meter it is around 245v. I bought a Teco FM50 VFD, this one here

1 HP TECO VFD 23 VAC 1PH INPUT 3PH OUTPUT

The motor I bought is a Marathon 143TTFR16038 1HP motor but I didnt realize it was 200v instead of 208-230v.
This is the motor I bought.

MARATHON 1 HP 18 RPM TEFC 2 VOLTS 143T 3 PHASE MOTOR NEW SURPLUS | eBay

Will this motor be OK running it thru that VFD? From what I have gathered as long as its not run at full speed for long periods it may be OK?
I am using it to convert my tabletop Milling machine.

Thanks for any info.

motor.jpg

In your VFD programming, it requires that you enter the motor nameplate voltage. Enter it exactly as the nameplate says. The VFD will take care of it from there, as long as the motor nameplate voltage is less than or equal to the incoming line, and even then, +-10% is typically acceptable.

In your VFD programming, it requires that you enter the motor nameplate voltage. Enter it exactly as the nameplate says. The VFD will take care of it from there, as long as the motor nameplate voltage is less than or equal to the incoming line, and even then, +-10% is typically acceptable.

Thanks for the reply.
I havent received the VFD yet, it should be here this evening. I have looked over the manual online though and didnt see where you set the voltage but I might have missed it. Are you familiar with this exact VFD and the voltage can be set in this one?

The manual I see for the unit indeed DOES NOT HAVE a voltage setting......????????

I assume that it uses whatever the line has, and only controls below that as frequency changes.