What's new
What's new

220 vs 440 and phase conversion questions

woodcanoe

Plastic
I am a newbie and found this forum last night. I have an 18 yr old son who is in his last year of machine tool tech program. We are setting up a small machine shop in our door yard. We have an Excelo Mill and Med size Cincinnati lathe. Mill is 1 1/2 hp and lathe is 3 hp. Both machines are dual volltage 220/440. We have no three phase in our neighborhood. We have an Hitachi electronic converter that came with the mill but don't like it. We are looking at rotary phase converters. Would like to know the pros and cons, based on ease of operation more than just cost.

Since the phase converters I have looked at would require a transformerto step up to 440v, would it make more sense to use the 220 windings in the motors and simplify things.

Question my son asked me last night and I don't know the anwer to is this: Is there any advantage to using the motors on 440 v as opposed to 220?

Appreciate any advice.

Thanks,

WC

Since you do not have three phase power available, reconnect the motors and controls to run on 220 volt power supplied by a VFD. Being unhappy with the VFD may be it is not set up correctly for the system. I have individual VFD's on my Lathe, Milling machine and Surface Grinder and all run on 240 volt single phase input power.

JRW

The advantage of 440 over 220 is the amount of current the wires will have to carry. The higher the voltage, the lower the current. Power used will stay the same.

But as JR said, get a VFD and rewire your motors for 220. Check the amperage rating on the motors - make sure the VFD can handle it i.e. - will he be running both machines at the same time?

Is the Hitachi a Variable or Static converter? The Variable type gives you some neat capabilities for speed control

However, you may need a Rotary Phase Converter if your loads are too high.