What's new
What's new

Hard starting three Phase Lathe

goodguyglenn

Plastic
Hi can someone explain why turning on multiple machines and letting them run with no load can help with starting a more powerful machine. Seems like that wouldbe the opisite of what I should do? As you can tell I'm not a electrical engineer just the basic (enough to get me in trouble sometimes)
Thanks, Glenn

Glenn,

Here's a low tech answer that may help, from a low tech person.

I assume you are referring to a circuit in which you are running three phase motors from a single phase supply and using a rotary phase converter instead of a static converter. If this assumption is wrong, quit reading, I'm full of beans.

To understand why the statement is true, first you have to understand what the rotary phase converter (RPC) is doing, and what its limitations are.

A rotary phase converter is essentially a plain three phase motor that is using two windings (legs) to turn the motor and the third winding as a generator to create the missing third phase. There's more to it than that, and by making such a simplistic statement I am placing myself at risk of being pilloried by the more technically conversant among us, perhaps rightly so. But consider the RPC in that regard, at least for now.

One RPC shortcoming is that the motor was originally designed as a motor and optimized for that use. It wasn't intended to be used as a motor/generator. As a result the third, synthesized leg's output isn't as strong as that of the other two legs. The RPC's performance can be improved with the addition of capacitors to help balance the output, but that has nothing to do with your question.