What's new
What's new

3 Phase welder of Single Phase (new question based on all the old threads)

gerlbaum

Plastic
So after reading all the threads I could find on 3 phase Welders run off single phase (transformer type not inverter) on PM and other websites it seems pretty clear they run with just two legs hooked up with the exception of a welder with voltage sensing that won't allow it to run on single pause. Granted it will be reduced power output (by 1/3 or more) and duty rating.

However I read on another forum where I guy hooked single phase to L1 and L3 and then put a jumper (from either L1 or L3) to L2, essentially running two of the coils of the transformer in parallel. I was just curious if this was a better method, would be worse, etc...I am not an electrician or engineer by any means but it would seem all coils of the transformer would be powered, but the two running in parallel would only be half powered. In the same post it was suggest it is best to run the welder in 460 configuration if doing this. I of course have No idea why.

I appreciate any of the smarter folks explaining this to me.

Thanks

So after reading all the threads I could find on 3 phase Welders run off single phase (transformer type not inverter) on PM and other websites it seems pretty clear they run with just two legs hooked up with the exception of a welder with voltage sensing that won't allow it to run on single pause.

Not really.

Here you go:

http://pounceatron.dreamhosters.com/docs/misc/CP-200_Single-Phase_Step-By-Step.pdf

About the Haas-Kamp conversion

The Haas-Kamp method utilizes a simple process for fully
powering a 3-phase welding transformer with single-phase
power. In a properly powered 3-phase transformer, the
incoming power’s 3-phase sequence occurs at 120 degree
intervals (360 divided by 3 = 120 degrees). The operating
result in a 3-phase transformer, is magnetic circulation that
occurs in a figure-8 pattern between coils A, B, and C.