What's new
What's new

3HP SHARP mill phase conversion

GRHebard

Plastic
hey guys, i'm a young hot rod/chopper fabricator, with even less electrical experience. i've been on the forum now and then to learn a little bit about machinery, but this is my first time posting anything. i searched the forum a little bit for this, but didnt seem to find anything too specific to my situation. if you know of a thread that can help, please link me to it. thank you

so, i just got a 3HP Sharp knee-mill, when i had picked it up, i wasn't sure if it was single-phase or three-phase, the wiring was messed up coming out of the switch because of how it had been removed from the previous shop. The motor said 3-phase, but the previous owner could've sworn it was single phase.

heres what i'm working with:

C0C733FE-967C-4EE8-8E40-AD399E166B74.jpg

1C48C330-D4DC-4121-8F79-224CE4987E93.jpg

730FA8A6-753E-47AD-A5AC-265353A30C8B.jpg

heres the tag on the motor
46F2A572-53A5-450C-B582-64D7E2D6D23C.jpg

4814101B-19EF-4323-B8B5-BE107CEC6EC8.jpg

heres the wires in the backside of the switch
7C325C69-0C47-499C-A522-DAFE2A55142C.jpg

heres the tag on the switch (the 'POWER REQUIREMENT' tag below has no info on it :angry:)
DF2FEC14-3A81-423B-81C4-D06B1734F444.jpg

inside the switch
522F6298-9979-415D-BFF4-BD59279708CC.jpg

and finally, the wires coming out of the switch. three wires, coming out of the 4-wire cable..
9F39A6E4-F83D-4BB2-B682-4672A7CF015E.jpg

so i think ive determined that its all setup for three-phase, right? the wires coming out of the switch is just missing one, like it had been broken or ripped out or something..

anyway, if it is in fact 3-phase, i'll need to figure out a phase converter situation.. heres what i've found so far, but i really don't know the first thing about all this..

PhazPak PR-3, 3 H.P. Phase converter full assembly - CSH Electric Motor Supply

HD 3 - 5 HP Static Phase Converter Mill Drill Saw MADE IN USA Single to three | eBay